Only This World - Single

by Sahara

  • Label: Sahara Music
  • Genres: Rock, Singer-songwriter
  • Release Date: Jan 28, 2017


    • Liner Notes
    • Label: Sahara Music
    • Genres: Rock, Singer-songwriter
    • Release Date: Jan 28, 2017


    'Only This World'

    We didn't set out to write a song about the environment even though we often discussed how we as human beings were causing damage to the Earth on a daily basis without due respect or consideration. No, the story behind this song is a simple one. The melody just arrived not in it's current form, but more as an uptempo catchy pop song which we were initially going to dismiss. However along with the melody, as quite often happens, we got a teaser. It's usually a single word, a chorus line or a short sentence or sometimes nothing at all. This time, along with the music came the words 'Only this world'. We decided to work out the chords and knew instinctively that with such words we would have to bring a more serious edge to the boppy melody. With the chords and the rhythm the song took on a shape of it's own and we had to follow. In all honesty when pen touched paper the lyrics just wrote themselves leaving us as surprised as anyone  else.

     We realized that the song was longer than our average song but felt compelled not to curtail it – it's as if the song was telling us to slow down – life isn't a three minute hit!  Maybe the world has to slow down and think about what we are doing and how we are living our lives. Now measuring over seven minutes and being about an issue we feel strongly about we thought 'Only This World' deserved to be a stand-alone song. We decided to do something we hadn't done in thirty years and that was to release a single. The only other single we had released was back when we met and wrote our first song together called 'Vision of Glory'. 'Only This World' was initially released on 24th March 2014 exactly one month before our album ‘See all that's before me'.

    All music and lyrics composed by Trish & Dave Long. Arranged, produced and performed by Trish & Dave Long. Artwork, Design & Layout  by Sahara Music. Recorded at Nomad Recording Studios

    Trish Long: Vocals, Saxes, Synth Dave Long: Vocals, Guitar, Keyboard, Synth

    All compositions © 2017 Sahara Music. All artwork © 2017 Sahara Music
    • 1. Only This World 6:57
      Artist: Sahara Share


    Top of page
    requires your email address in exchange for this free download. Continue with this download?

    OK Cancel

    requires an email address in exchange for this free download. Please login or create an account. Once you are logged in, you can download as many tracks as you wish.

    Sign up Log in Cancel